*Winnie the Pooh DIY*

Happy New Year everyone, make 2016 a great one! (Okay, this post was started on 02/01/16 so I’m keeping this in.)

I decided to ditch family for the first time and welcomed the new year at a friend’s Fancy Dress House Party. Now, I didn’t have time to plan an outfit so I decided to make my own. I did however get the chance to run around town for a few hours so I managed to get the last few bits and bobs that I needed. I had an idea in mind which was to go as Super Mario because I already have a hat and some Yoshis so I was planning on holding one all night, but then I remembered that I had a beautiful yellow dress and all I needed was a red tee over it, which I also had. My first job when I turned 16 was at Arcade Fancy Dress and Party Shop as a Saturday girl, but I didn’t like, and still don’t like dressing up as someone/something else. Hell I don’t even like wearing Asian clothing at Asian functions. I love being comfortable and I dress for me, not to impress other people, so I was in a win/win situation here…dressing like Disney’s Winnie The Pooh in my own clothes <3. I did put in the effort to accessorize and look the part, so here’s what I did.

 

Hunny Pot 🍯🐝

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. So this was quite easy to do, first I just basically emptied out my Haribo sweet box by eating everything (that was a joke, most of it still hasn’t been devoured)
  2. Then, I snapped off the handle and drew around the circumference of the base to make a circle that would fit nicely on top of the lid. I then glued this onto the lid to create a base to build up on.
  3. Next, I got some thin paper (the stuffing from a new holdall) and started to papier mache it over the lid (with an equal mixture of PVA glue and water). I also found a cute lid from another sweet box with a small circular handle to place in the middle, so I kept layering the paper and PVA/water mixture and then made the shape of Winnie’s Hunny Pot lid.
  4. After that, I flipped the base over and painted it all a nice brown colour. Unfortunately, due to the sweet box being plastic, all the paint has now flaked off and I was left with only the lid intact. Next time I’ll make sure to cover it with paper and then paint over it.
  5. I waited for my lid to dry, and harden and then placed in on the dry base. I made sure that it was strong enough to pull open from the little circular handle to ensure it was still a fully-functional box/container. If it’s still weak, be sure to add another layer of paper and PVA/water. I then painted the lid brown.
  6. Last but not least, using the Winnie picture above, I wrote H U N N Y in PVA glue and sprinkled fine, gold glitter over it. There you have your Hunny Pot, I carried this around for a bit and had some chocolate treats inside.

Pooh’s ears

Another easy DIY

  1. First, I got some white paper and folded it in half. On one side, at the crease, I drew an ear and then cut it out. After opening it up, I was left with a symmetrical piece which I wrapped over my black headband. I repeated this for the second ear and glued them both in place. I also stapled them to stop them from moving along the headband.
  2. Then, I cut out some bits of cardboard for the insides of the ears. I cut 4 altogether and stuck them on. Using card meant that mounting them on also created some height to make them really look like ears.
  3. Finally the fun part, I put glue all over the 4 sides and sprinkled gold glitter on.

Winnie Costume 🐻

In terms of my actual outfit, I put on a red tee over my yellow lace dress and I wore a brown belt to match my Hunny Pot. The only thing I bought for this were the shoes, from my new favourite shop Pep&Co for £6, but they’re not the type of shoes that I’ll only wear the once! I also had a yellow boyfriend cardigan, which was the same shade of yellow as my dress.

Pooh Tee

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. This was one of my missions in town on the day, I needed either glittery gold or yellow paper to write Pooh on my red tee. I found this pack of Glitter Sheets from Poundland, for…well £1 :p
  2. Next, I Googled Pooh tee and found an image online of a red tee with the name Pooh on…perfect!
  3. Then, I turned my yellow glitter sheet face down and drew the letters back to front, copying the Winnie The Pooh font. I then cut them out.
  4. After, I put my red tee flat and decided where to place the letters. I have long hair, so I wanted to place it well below where my hair sat so people could appreciate the Pooh!
  5. Using a hot glue gun, I positioned the letters on my tee and then stuck them down when I was happy with the placement. There you go! I’ve actually peeled the letters off, and have my normal red tee back. The Pooh letters are also safe for whenever I may need them again.

Nails 💅🏽

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am obsessed with Technic‘s nail varnishes! I have more than I need, but they’re just so fabulous, last so long and they’re only 99p from Bodycare 🙂 (a bit more online). Check out my hashtag #BhandalNails to see some of my nail colours, art and Nails of the Week!

I painted my nails with 2 coats of Jet Black, and then 2 gradient-type patterns of Christmas Cracker to Lustre, and vice-versa.

Jewellery

All I needed here was a couple of red rings. Yellow and gold would also look amazing with the whole ensemble.

9

Have fun making your own Pooh costume! 🙂 ❤️🐻💛

Leave a Reply

