*Elmer Display DIY*

 
I’ve been designing and creating classroom displays for 6 years now.

This particular display wasn’t for my classroom, I helped an NQT who wanted some kind of 100 square in his Year 1 classroom…and I thought of the most colourful thing possible ❤️💛💚💙💜🐘.

  1. First, I cut out 100 10cm x 10cm squares using different coloured paper, and a guillotine 👍🏽.
  2. I then spent, what felt like a month, bubble writing numbers 1-100 on the squares and coloured them using felt tips. I also got some children to help with this part!
  3. Then I placed 1, 11, 21, 31, 41, 51, 61, 71, 81 and 91 in a column and got a large sheet of white card to draw Elmer’s gluteus maximum, tail and hind leg to size.
  4. After drawing the back end, I stuck on more 10cm x 10cm squares to fill it in and kept the patchwork pattern consistent.
  5. Then, I cut the whole back piece out. Cutting after means that some of the squares will be cut to the right shape for the parts that aren’t whole squares (tail).
  6. After that I put 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90 and 100 in a column and drew Elmer’s head, trunk, mouth and front leg.
  7. I then repeated step 4 for the front section, placing the squares in the same patchwork pattern.
  8. This was cut out and then I drew the eye and ear on using a black marker pen.
  9. The fun part was assembling it all together! The numbers were blue-tacked on and the front and back sections were stapled.

There we go, an adorably colourful Elmer display to help children count and brighten up your classroom. 😊

I also made some smaller 100 Elmer squares which were laminated for the children to use and doodle on with whiteboard pens.

100 Elmer PRINT

Online I found an Elmer page border and I typed up some challenge questions in them to add to the board.

landscapePortrait

Leave a Reply

